Combating Cognitive Dissonance

Some wise words from The Rabbit Hole on cognitive dissonance – perhaps the major affliction ailing the western world in the modern age.

The Rabbit Hole

December 31st, 2016

There are two ways to be fooled. One is to believe what isn’t true. The other is to refuse to accept what is true. Soren Kierkegaard

I realized tonight that it’s much more frustrating to argue politics with people in person than it is on social media. Especially with close friends who are only familiar with the NATO/US narrative, by choice. Knowing we have opposing views I didn’t initiate the politics talk.

I was told, “you’re intelligent, how could you support a dictator”? I said because I’m intelligent I don’t believe the lies and propaganda spewed on mainstream media, and dig beneath the surface. “But he’s killing his people, he’s using chemical weapons”.. So I proceeded to explain how that’s false and even shared a recent post of mine that said that the Syrian state provided evidence that the opposition were the ones who used mustard gas…

View original post 393 more words

2 thoughts on “Combating Cognitive Dissonance

  1. I have her blog in my feed reader She’s right….very hard to change a mind that’s already made up. I’ve just about given up. I see you’re still battling the unbelievers on FB. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

