The Great Dumbing Time

12489368_1705782813001809_6952091450212164478_o

Image credit: The Don Freeman FaceBook post

 

I don’t really care who I offend by agreeing with the message in this image.  It is a sad thing to agree with but it is generally true, and it is not limited to the new generation who depend on the internet to give them some sort of, any kind of, self-definition, reason for being, or status.

The internet, along with its spawned brat – social media, will prove to be very temporary phenomena.  Temporary, because they are dependent on a viable resource-based consumer economy for their existence, and we soon will not have one of those on which to base anything else either.  These technological wonders, or toys, have only a short time left to continue to provide entertainment and mental benumbing for the masses.  When that time comes, a great percentage of the population will die of boredom, if nothing else, having no idea how to usefully occupy themselves without these social props at the centre of their being.  I call this time before the end of the techno-age, The Great Dumbing Time.

I am of course myself a user of both the internet and social media, but I hope I am using them wisely and to some useful purpose.  Not simply to appear ‘cool’ or to validate my existence and status, because those things need no validation or approval.  But I use them knowing full well that these tools, along with all other techno-wonders of our current time, will be short lived features of this age of astonishingly short lived gadgetry.

Nor will they be replaced by something else, some new whiz-bang marvellous technology.  Except perhaps by semaphore flags, sun on mirror morse-code messages and extremely long delivery-time snail-mail (hand-written).  Oh, forget the snail mail.  No-one will remember how to write in a generation’s time.
 

5 thoughts on “The Great Dumbing Time

  1. Reblogged this on Foodnstuff and commented:
    I’m in complete accord with the writer of the sentiments expressed in the image in this reblog from Not Something Else. It boggles my mind that, with all the world’s knowledge available at the click of a mouse, people seem to be getting dumber and dumber.

    The internet won’t be with us in the oil-depleting future ahead of us. While we’re lucky enough to have it, we should be learning as much as we can about self-sufficient living, not mindless facebooking and twittering.

  2. I couldn’t agree more, but then I didn’t grow up with PC’s and their offspring and have always retained a love for books, both fiction and non-fiction. Because of this, I think, I see the computer as a tool, not as the centre of my universe and have only been bothered to learn those aspects that will enhance the use of the tool.

    I’m also not constantly attached to a mobile phone, as I find them intrusive and have no desire to share my every waking moment with the general populace.

    I remember a Sci-Fi episode on that other insidious, but sometimes watched box, where a whole civilization was falling into ruins, because the inhabitants were all plugged into virtual reality devices and I wonder if this might not be the future reality for the generations to come.

    • Thanks Bernardette. Very wise.

      I do own a mobile phone myself, a smart-phone as they call them these days, but to me that is all that it is, a telephone. Oh, and an occasional camera too. I never connect it to the internet, GPS, or the Location service, since I don’t want those who can find out knowing where I am every minute of the day and able to trace where I have been. It doesn’t make sense to me to expose oneself to that sort of scrutiny in this day and age. But, while we still have the facility, there is a certain comfort in knowing that those with whom I may want to communicate are able to reach me when the need arises, though that list of people is relatively small.

      On that ‘other’ box, along with all modern technology, I think you have no need of worry for future generations. If what I and many others believe will happen, becomes reality, there will be no electronic gadgetry of any sort available to those folk. As I mentioned in the post, all such things, the products of our current industrial society, are entirely dependent on that society with its resource intensive demands and shaky financial debt-based economy, continuing for ever. That situation I think is a pipe-dream that has been fed to us for the past 50 years or so. It will not last. It cannot last. And we can see it beginning to unravel even now, right before our eyes. So, worry for future generations certainly, but not for what will pre-occupy their thoughts. More for how they are going to survive without the comfortable benefits with which these last two generations have surrounded themselves, nor the powerful tools that we have utilised to get us to where we are today.

Leave a Reply

