Why There Is No Peace On Earth

This post has been inspired by a masterful rendition and appraisal of the true history of the 20th and early 21st centuries of the modern era, by David Stockman on his Stockman’s Corner of the Contra Corner blog, titled: Christmas 2015—–Why There Is No Peace On Earth.

Few books of history will relate these same truths, but then, unspun truth is not what recorded history is all about, is it?

I have saved a PDF copy of this article (there is a link at the end of it to do that) as a reminder and reference tool for myself as to why we currently live in such a troubled world.

The article is quite long, which means that I guess that few if any will read it.  As an appetiser, I offer just this single quote from it, but it is of course about much more than that:

“The end of the cold war meant world peace was finally at hand, yet 25 years later there is still no peace because Imperial Washington confounds it.

In fact, the War Party entrenched in the nation’s capital is dedicated to economic interests and ideological perversions that guarantee perpetual war; they ensure endless waste on armaments and the inestimable death and human suffering that stems from 21st century high tech warfare and the terrorist blowback it inherently generates among those upon which the War Party inflicts its violent hegemony.”

I was reminded by this article that it was Supreme Allied Commander in WW2, General Dwight D. Eisenhower and later post-war (34th) US President, who in writing his farewell speech coined the term ‘Congressional-Military-Industrial-Complex’ which was modified (should that read ‘censored’?) before delivery to simply ‘Military-Industrial-Complex’.  A phrase very well known to those who are aware of the manipulation that goes on behind world affairs.


Image credit: https://www.whitehouse.gov/1600/presidents/dwightdeisenhower

“In the councils of government, we must guard against the acquisition of unwarranted influence, whether sought or unsought, by the military-industrial complex. The potential for the disastrous rise of misplaced power exists and will persist.”

Farewell Radio and Television Address to the American People, 1/17/61

The level of vigilance and guardianship that those simple thoughts inspire, remains just as real, if not more so, today as they were back in 1961.  I am sure they are on the minds of many good American folk as they consider where they want their nation to go as they head into this Presidential election year.  Those same thoughts should also be on the minds of every citizen of all nations living under increasingly power gathering centralised governments posing as democracies.

3 thoughts on “Why There Is No Peace On Earth

  1. Yes, you’re right, it is a long article. I did try to get through it, I really did, but I lost track of who, what and where and I have better things to do outside. All I know is that I hate the USA and will be glad to see it crash and burn as I fervently hope it will.

    • I didn’t get to the end of it either, which is partly why I saved the file.

      I share your sentiments about America, but while I don’t mention it as often as I probably ought to do, I distinguish between the American people generally and the things their government and other powerbrokers do. Just as we don’t identify with the actions of our own government. Having said that, America does seem to have more than its fair share of lunatics, extremists (at both ends), and ill-informed, delusional people. But I am convinced that there are good people there also, who will be caught up in whatever dramatic end awaits the collapse of their crumbling society along with everyone else. Just as we will.

      • Oh, yes, I know there are good people there, but I think a lot of them will believe anything their government tells them, probably because they don’t want to admit it’s as phony as it is.

Leave a Reply

